Graduate & Professional Students Advising Community Leadership

Steering Committee Members (2021-2022)
Name Institution AC's Subcommittee
Amanda Lager Gleason Colorado State University Mentor 
Cherry Lacsina University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Communications
Colleen Rose Indiana University Bloomington Benchmarking
Courtney Lewellen Indiana University Communications
Jamie Heck University of Cincinatti Communications
Jordan Wienke Webster University Mentor
Krista Smith University of Florida Benchmarking & Community Engagement
Kristie Cansler Hampton University Benchmarking
Mark Nakamoto University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Community Engagement
Shabeer Hussain Amirali University of Louisville  Mentor 
Shannon Mark University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Mentor 
Summer Nicole Sibley Texas A&M University Communications

Past Leadership

Past Advising Community Chairs

  • Jamie Heck, University of Cincinnati (2019-2021)
  • Shelley Price-Williams, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (2017-2019)

Past Chairs when a Commission and Interest Group Division (CIGD)

  • Lydia Cross, Georgia Southern University (2015-2017)
  • Rebecca Hapes, Texas A&M University - Main Campus (2013-2015)
  • Leslie Hemphill, University of Saint Mary (2009-2013)
  • Stephanie Crouch, University of Texas at Arlington (2009-2011)
  • Sarah Naylor, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill (2007-2009)
  • Kati Markowitz, University of California-Berkeley (2005-2007)
  • Virginia Hueske, University of Texas at Austin (2003-2005)
  • Jennifer L. Bloom, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2001-2003)
  • Randall R. Honold, DePaul University (1999-2001)
  • Patrick McGuire, Saint John's University (1997-1999)
  • George CoxGeorgia Southern University (1995-1997)
  • Cheryl Polson, Kansas State University (1993-1995)

Current Chair

Katelyn Talbott
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Current Term: 2021-2023

Mentor Program

2021 Application Info

General Requirements to Participate:

  • Membership Status: NACADA Member at the time of the application and throughout the year of the program
  • Must be able to attend a virtual mentoring workshop on September 29, 2021
  • Attendance at the 2021 NACADA Annual Conference is encouraged but not required
  • This is a one-year commitment

General Requirements for Mentee:

  • Have less than 2 years of advising graduate and professional students specifically (can have other years of advising, but must have less than 2 years with this population)

General Requirements for Mentor:

  • Must have work experience advising graduate and/or professional students specifically for more than 2 years (can have other years of advising, but must have more than 2 years with this population)


Mentor Application | Due Friday, May 28, 2021 | Click here for Application 

Mentee Application | Due Friday, May 28, 2021 | Click here for Application