NACADA Global Awards Program

Our awards are designed to honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising within higher education. 

The program goals are to:

  • Recognize outstanding advising throughout higher education
  • Offer a global advising rewards system 
  • Encourage wider support of advising personnel and programs
  • Ultimately improve advising services for students


Email [email protected]

NACADA's Big Five

(nominations due May 31)

Virginia N. Gordon Award
Leading Light Awards
Michael C. Holen Pacesetter Award
Charlie Nutt Global Advising Award for Excellence
Bobbie Flaherty Service to NACADA Award

Outstanding Advisor Awards

(nominations due May 31)

Outstanding Advisor Award - Primary Role Category
Outstanding Advisor Award - Faculty Academic Category
Outstanding Advising - Administrator Award
Outstanding Advising - Program Awards
Outstanding New Advisor Award - Primary Role
Outstanding New Advisor Award - Faculty Award
Advising Innovation Awards


(nominations due date varies)

NACADA Scholarships (nominations due May 31)
Christy Carlson Memorial Scholarships (nominations due May 31)
Wes Habley Institute for Academic Advising Scholarship (nominations due April 30)
Graduate Student Annual Conference Scholarships (nominations due May 31)
New Advisor Annual Conference Scholarships (nominations due May 31)

Research & Publication Related Awards

(nominations due May 31)

Student Research Awards
Excellence in Scholarly Inquiry Award
Leigh S. Shaffer Award

Advising Community Division Award

(nominations due May 31)

ACD Service Award

How to submit an application/nomination?

Please visit Submission Instructions to begin your application.

Awards Presentation

  • The Global Awards are presented at an invitation-only ceremony at the NACADA Annual Conference held each fall in varying locations. 
  • The selection committee reserves the right to make no awards in a certain category.

Award Press Release Information & Ceremony Details

  • The following webpage is for award winners. Please find details and additional information pertaining to the award ceremony at the annual conference and press releases available for institutional use on this webpage.