1994 Winners


Pacesetter Award Winner

Linda M. Steele Franklin University

Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in the Field of Advising Award Winner

Gary Kramer

Service to NACADA Award Winner

Carol Ryan

Outstanding Advising Award - Winners

Barbara L. Benedict California State University-Fresno, Fresno, CA
Robert A. Clark SUNY College at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY
Pauline Dempsey University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL
Madonna Egan College of St. Catherine
Josephine Frazier University of North Florida
Rev. Wilbert Hadden Slippery Rock University, Slippery Rock, PA
Steven W. Johnson Eastern Arizona State College
Cecelia Johnson Columbia State Community College
Karen Murray University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, MInneapolis, MN
Henry Nash Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS
Judith Valla Ramirez California State University-Fullerton
Kenna J. Reeves Emporia State University
Barbara Solomon North Carolina State University

Outstanding Advising Award - Certificate of Merit

Trena Anastasia Colorado State University
Michael Bayly University of Charleston
Louise Cecil University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Linda B. Chaplin Washington State University
Lorena Chavez El Paso Community College
John Dickson Allentown College of St. Francis
John L. Frehn Illinois State University, Normal, IL
Gayle L. Garrison Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science
M. Allie Goatley University of Louisville
Beverly Grunder Cowley County Community College
Joseph Hendricks Mercer University
Sarah Liggett Louisiana State University
Carla D. Moldavan Kennesaw State College, Kennesaw, GA
Sheri Noble Utah State University
Karen Parker Liberty University
Ernest Schwab La Sierra University
Cathy Shriver Georgia Southern University
Diane Wild Smith Regents College Nursing Program
Betty Souther Houston Baptist University
Robert Vivian California State University-Chico, Chico, CA
Bobette Warner Rochester institute of Technology
Peggy Wood East Carolina University
Note: Prior to 2001, there was only one category for these advising awards.

Outstanding Advising Program - Winners 

A Cyclical Approach to Computer Assisted Academic Advising at an Urban University Norfolk State University
Adviser Recruitment for Readmission of Non-Returning Students Southern Methodist University
Central Michigan University Advising Program Central Michigan University
Leading-Edge Business Strategy Applied to Academic Advising Franklin University
Special Advising Program Suffolk University
The Articulation/Transfer Advising Office Seminole Community College

Outstanding Advising Program - Certificates of Merit

Advising, Registration and TQM Elizabethtown Community College
Centralized Advising Plan Collin County Community College
MARS (Monitoring At Risk Students) Louisiana State University
Summer Advising West Virginia State College
Title IV Student Support Services Harris-Stowe State College
University Undesignated Program North Carolina State University
Using Video Technology for Academic Advising: Advising for the T.V. Generation Concordia University

NACADA Scholarship Winners

Elizabeth Clow Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston, GA
David Hefling Kent State University, Kent, OH
Jennifer L. Bloom University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, IL
Patricia Wright-Tatum Lincoln University, Jefferson City, MO
Michelle M. White Millersville University, Millersville, PA

Student Research Award Recipients

None Awarded