1996 Winners


Pacesetter Award Winner

Phillip "Chris" Farren Emporia State University

Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in the Field of Advising Award Winner

Not Awarded

Service to NACADA Award Winner

Thomas Kerr

Outstanding Advising Award - Winners

Monique Anderson University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Deborah Blackstone University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Mary Bloom Johnson County Community College, Shawnee Mission, KS
Margaret Frohne Western Illinois University, Macomb, IL
Lucille Halgin University of Massachussetts, Amherst, MA
Donna Hanly University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia, MO
Robert Mendelsohn South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD
Dale Steiner California Sate University, Chico, Chico, CA
Norma Stice University of North Florida, Jacksonville, FL
Judith Wanhala University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Carolyn Wellman University of North Carolina-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Paula Willyard Tulsa Junior College, Tulsa, OK
Jean Woodbury Framingham State College, Hopkinton, MA

Outstanding Advising Award - Certificate of Merit

Ellen Atkins Columbia College
Patricia Bond University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
L. Winfield Brown, Jr. Florence-Darlington Technical College, Florence, SC
David Chesebrough Illinois State University, Normal, IL
Jeffrey Dupee LaSierra University
Gilbert Fairbanks Furman University
Marianne Ferguson Buffalo State College
Richard Franks Elmhurst College
Alex Greenberg Niagara County Community College
Martha Griffith Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA
R. Paul Ivey Louisiana State University
Carolyn Malone Mississippi State University
Susan McDaniel East Carolina University
James McIntrye, Jr. Boston University
Ellyn McLaughlin, The University of Charleston
Amy Meekins Salisbury State University
Karl Miko Grand Valley State University
Vincent Nicotina Regents College, Albany, NY
Norma Pacheco University of Southern California, San Diego
Connie Rash University of Georgia
Steven Troxel Liberty University
LaDoris Susan Turner Georgia Southern University
Maureen Wagner Utah State University
Daniel Wright Elon College
Note: Prior to 2001, there was only one category for these advising awards.

Outstanding Advising Program - Winners 

Advising: A Collaborative Endeavor  California State University-Chico
Faculty Involvement and Innovation: Keys to a Successful First-Year Advising Program  Linfield College
All-University Program to Strengthen Academic Advising  Syracuse University
Freshman Engineering Leadership Team: Student Mentors for Recruitment and Retention  University of Pittsburgh, School of Engineering
Using E-mail in Advising: The Advising and Mentoring Program at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire  University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Outstanding Advising Program - Certificates of Merit

Development of a Pre-Major Advising Center  Marquette University
The Faculty Advisor Workshop Series  Monroe Community College
Interactive Video Advising  Pima Community College
School for New Learning Advising Program, School for New Learning  DePaul University
Women's Athletic Student Services  The University of Iowa
Academic Advising via the Hawaii Interactive Television System  University of Hawaii at Manoa, Colleges of Arts and Sciences
Central Advising Service and Transfer Center  University of Kentucky
Division of General Studies  University of Nebraska-Lincoln

NACADA Scholarship Winners

JoAnne Bunnage Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
Anna Marie Oechsler University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
Barbara Schiller Northern Arizona University, Tucson, AZ
Amy Slater University of Illinois at Springfield, Springfield, IL
Gail Zimmerman University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA

Student Research Award Recipients

Wilma Soroosh Pima Community College, Tucson, AZ