2000 Winners


Pacesetter Award Winner

Lawrence Gould Fort Hays State University

Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in the Field of Advising Award Winner

Nancy King

Service to NACADA Award Winner

Tom Brown

Outstanding Advising Award - Winners

Stan Allen Utah State University, Logan, UT
Bruce Bechtol California State University-Chico, Chico, CA
Laura Brown Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA
Travis Chapin Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
Randy Dillon Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield, MO
Jane Jacobson Iowa State University, Ames, IA
Glenn Kepic University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Ronald Matson Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA
Richard Mattingly University of Texas-Austin, Austin, TX
Leslie Mokay SUNY College of Technology at Delhi, Delhi, NY
Dwight Moore Emporia State University, Emporia, KS
Olga Nelson Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, MI
Erik Props Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Patricia Roundy Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma, WA
Patricia Shaw McGill University, Montreal, Quebec
William Simonian Southern California Institute of Architecture, Los Angeles, CA
Sherry Southard East Carolina University, Greenville, NC
Linda Stevens Brigham Young University, Provo, UT
Terri Tharp Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN

Outstanding Advising Award - Certificate of Merit

Benjamin Blaney Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS
April Blessman St. Charles County Community College, St. Peters, MO
Eric Bolsterli University of Texas-Arlington, Arlington, TX
Sue Boos Fort Hays State University, Fort Hays, KS
Marilyn Curran University of Nebraska-Omaha, Omaha, NE
Janice DeLong Liberty University, Lynchburg, VA
William Ferguson University of Louisiana-Lafayette, Lafayette, LA
Sheela Free Maryville University of St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Caroline Gilbert University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Sarah Ann Hones Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR
Greta Jackson Broward Community College, Coconut Creek, FL
Dawn Kakumba University at Albany, Albany, NY
Trudy Klein Walla Walla College, College Place, WA
Danielle Lindsey Illinois State University, Normal, IL
Janine McCoy Winston University of Alabama-Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Carl Meadors University of Charleston, Charleston, WV
Ruth Moseley Florence-Darlington Technical College, Florence, SC
Nancy Ondra Regents College, Albany, NY
Mary Ormson University of Toledo, Toledo, OH
Margaret Rapp Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL
Jill Rasmussen LaSierra University, Riverside, CA
Paula Reid Northern New Mexico Community College, Espanola, NM
Laurie Ryan Niagara County Community College, Sanborn, NY
Susie Striegler Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
Thomas Temples North Georgia College & State University, Dahlonega, GA
Judi Teske Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton, WI
Philip Weiss Western Illinois University, Macomb, IL
Note: Prior to 2001, there was only one category for these advising awards.

Outstanding Advising Program - Winners 

Health Professions and Pre-Law Information Center  Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
FYE Advising and TRANS AM Advising Programs , Towson University, Towson, MD
Fine Arts Career Services  University of Texas-Austin, Austin, TX
Preceptor Program/FYS Advising Teams  Wheaton College, Norton, MA

Outstanding Advising Program - Certificates of Merit

The Multi-Step Initial Advising Process Through the Business Division at Clark College  Clark College, Vancouver, WA
Certificate of Advising Program  Liberty University, Lynchburg, VA
Expanded Advising Programs  Stanford University, Stanford, CA
Student Support Services  University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Advising Technology Innovation Award - Winners 

New Student Handbook California Poly University, San Luis Obispo, CA (Region 9)
The Mentor: An Academic Advising Journal Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA (Region 2)

Advising Technology Innovation Award - Certificates of Merit

Sociology Department Advising Web Page  Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA (Region 8)
Faculty of Arts Academic Advising University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC (Region 8)
Ralphie's Info Center University of Colorado, Boulder, CO (Region 10)

Summer Institute Scholarship Winners

Bonnie Alberts Garden City Community College, Garden City, KS
Tammy Bowen-Baldwin University of Idaho, Moscow, ID
Caron Daugherty Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield, MO
Jennifer P. Herman Pueblo Community College, Pueblo, CO
Sue Lorenz University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS
S. Ellen Myers University of Texas-Arlington, Arlington, TX

NACADA Scholarship Winners

Susan Weir Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
JoAnne Bunnage Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
Melissa Swenson College of Eastern Utah, Wellington, UT
Tabitha Cross Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IN

Student Research Award Recipients

Lance Lewis Northwood University, Midland, MI
Doctoral Candidate Learning to Advise: Avademic Advisers and Organizational Communities of Practice Research Project