Academic Advising Consultants & Speakers Services (AACSS) Advisory Board

AACSS Mission: 
The AACSS supports and guides the global advancement of quality academic advising to higher education institutions and organizations through its network of scholar-practitioner speakers and consultants.

AACSS Goals:
  • Proactively identify and strategically engage institutions and organizations that may benefit from the services of the AACSS.
  • Provide an individual or team of consultants to undertake a comprehensive program review of academic advising at a system, institution, or unit level.
  • Provide expert academic advising scholar-practitioners to deliver keynote addresses, motivational speeches, and workshops. 

How to Get Involved 

Those interested in becoming an AACSS Advisory Board member should contact Cathy Swartz, at the NACADA Executive Office. 

Jayne Drake, Advisory Board Chair 2019-2023

  The Chair of the Advisory Board facilitates the work of the group by:

  • Working with the Executive Office staff on issues that need attention or discussion.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board discussion on issues via email and/or conference calls.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board meetings during the Annual Conference.
  • Working with the Executive Office and the President on appointment of new members each year.
  • Providing written reports to the Board of Directors at least twice annually. 

AACSS Advisory Board Members:

Joanne Damminger, Wilmington University (2019-2023)
Sally Garner, University of Oregon (2021-2023)
Patti Griffin, Fort Hays State University (2021-2023)
Sara Stout, Washington State University (2021-2023)
Dana Zahorik, Fox Valley Technical College (2019-2023)
Deb Dotterer, Michigan State University (2020-2024)
Chrissy Davis Jones, HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College (2022-2024)
Holley Linkous, University of Tennessee-Knoxville (2022-2024)
Thomas Mabry, U.S. Air Force Academy, retired (2022-2024)
Jermain Pipkins, Dallas College (2020-2024)
Kimberly SmithVirginia Tech University (2018-2024)
David Spight, University of California-Irvine (2020-2024)
George Steele, Ohio Learning Network (2022-2024)
Jolene Stegath, Fox Valley Technical College (2020-2024)
Kathy Stockwell, Fox Valley Technical College, retured (2020-2024)
Cathy Swartz, Executive Office Liaison 

Next Meeting


Meeting Minutes