Global Awards Committee











Function: The Global Awards Committee coordinates the distribution of information, solicitation of nominations, selection of recipients, and the awards presentations of all Global Awards including Pacesetter, Virginia Gordon, Service to NACADA, Leading Light, Outstanding Advising, Outstanding New Advisor, Outstanding Programs, Advising Technology Innovations, various event Scholarships and NACADA Scholarships, Student Research, and Retiree Recognition.   

Membership: This committee is composed of current members and strives to ensure representation from all regions.

Annual Duties: 

  • Coordinate the Global Awards program including reviewing requests for new awards/scholarships and reviewing and updating existing awards/scholarships to ensure timeliness and relevance to members.  Make modifications to awards/scholarships as appropriate to meet the NACADA vision, mission and strategic goals.
  • Distribute information on applications/nominations and market awards/scholarships to the NACADA membership.
  • Gather readers and educate them on the review process. 
  • Select recipients after review with implemented scoring mechanisms (rubrics).
  • Ensure that committee appointments reflect the geographic, ethnic, and institutional diversity of NACADA.
  • Conduct the awards presentations at the Annual Conference Awards Ceremony.

How to Get Involved

Experience is not required, however, those that have volunteered in an awards capacity or have experience in reviewing for awards either at the global or regional levels, are appreciated.  Please contact the Chair or EO Liaison, Liz Alcantara, for more information.

Committee Chair (2019-2021)



Brandan Lowden
Pikes Peak Community College 
Region 1





Subcommittee Chairs
Kiana Shiroma, Research Committee Chair, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, (2020-2021)
Mykel Beorchia, Scholarship Selection Sub-Committee Chair, Utah State University (2020-2022)

Members by Region
Ali Ressing, Region 1, Northeastern University (2019-2021)
Amber King, Region 2, Delaware Technical Community College (2019-2021)
Shanna Pendergrast, Region 3, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville (2019-2021)
Shelby Bosi-Linton, Region 3, Bellarmine University (2021-2023)
Jennifer McCaul, Region 4, University of West Florida (2019-2021)
Amy Brock, Region 4, Auburn University (2020-2022)
Leslie Ross, Region 4, Georgia Institute of Technology (2020-2022)
Dana Hebreard, Region 5, Aquinas College (2020-2022)
Amanda Mather, Region 7, Texas A&M University at Qatar (2019-2021)
Kimmy Walker, Region 7, Missouri State University (2021-2023)
Kiana Shiroma, Region 9, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa (2020-2022)
Matt Markin, Region 9, California State University, San Bernardino (2019-2021)
Jesse Poole, Region 9, Nevada State College, (2018-2021) - Incoming Committee Chair (2021-2023)
Alex Kunkle, Region 9, Immediate Past Chair, Nevada State College (2019-2021) 
Jenny Cornet Carrillo, Region 9, University of California, Berkeley (2021-2023)
Mykel Beorchia, Region 10, Utah State University (2019-2021)
Colum Cronin, International Representative, Dublin City University (2019-2021)

Lizbeth Alcantara, NACADA Executive Office Liaison

Volunteer Opportunities for Members

  • Become a reader for scholarships and/or other awards.  
    • Readers review nomination packages online and score them on a set of criteria contained in an awards rubric. Training and support are provided.
    • Scholarship submissions come in at different times throughout the year.  Scholarship readers are needed in December, Spring (March/April), early May and in Summer (June)
    • Global award nominations require many readers, especially for Outstanding Advising categories, in late March/early April annually.
    • Reading experience is not required, but strongly encouraged, for future positions on the Global Awards Committee.
  • If you wish to read for the 2022 Awards, please complete the form here.  
  • Volunteer at the annual conference to help with the Awards Ceremony - various positions to help organize and coordinate the event.
  • Attend an Awards Committee meeting at the Annual Conference - get started with the awards process and possibly become a Member-At-Large in the future
  • Once on the Awards Committee as a Member-At-Large for a period of time - volunteer to Chair a sub-committee for a specific award.  Chairs have additional duties in reading, reviewing and selecting award/scholarship recipients.  Training and support are provided.

Contact Lizbeth Alcantara about these opportunities

Awards Selection Process

The award and scholarship recipients are selected as follows:

  1. Bobbie Flaherty Service to NACADA, Leading Light, Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in Advising, and Michael C. Holen Pacesetter Awards: reviewed and selected by the NACADA Council with final selections by the Vice President.
  2. Outstanding Advisor Awards in the Primary Role, Faculty Role, Administrator, New Advisor, and Program Awards: reviewed by NACADA members, Global Awards Committee members chosen to represent all NACADA regions and appointed for 2 years terms with final selections by the Awards Committee Chair.
  3. Excellence in Scholarly Inquiry Award, Student Research Awards, and Research Institute Scholarships: reviewed by Research Committee members (sub-committee assignments) with final selections by the Research Committee Chair.
  4. ACD Service Awards: reviewed by the Advising Community Division Cluster Reps and Chairs from the Advising Communities with final selections by an Advising Communities Division Leader or Division Rep. 
  5. Leigh Shaffer Award: reviewed by members of the Publications Advisory Board with final selection by the Publications Advisory Board Chair.
  6. Innovation Awards: reviewed by member readers selected by the Advising Innovation Awards sub-committee Chair with final selection by Innovation Awards Subcommittee Chair. 
  7. International Conference Scholarships: reviewed by members of the International Conference Advisory Board with final selections by the Committee Chair. 
  8. NACADA Scholarships, Annual Conference Scholarships, and Winter/Summer Institute Scholarships: reviewed by member readers and selected by the Global Awards Scholarship Subcommittee Chair.

Next Meeting

September 2021 Meeting:
Wednesday, September 15th: 2:00 - 3:00 pm CDT. 

2021 Annual Meeting: 

The Global Awards Annual Meeting will take place on Wednesday, October 13th from 2-3 pm CDT.

(Please convert to your Time Zone.)

Contact the EO Liaison (Liz Alcantara) for the meeting links.

Committee Information

Admin Division Chair Handbook

View the Committee Guidelines

Interested in joining this committee? 

Complete the Interest Survey


1. Coordinate the distribution of information, solicitation of nominations, selection of recipients, and the awards presentations of all NACADA Global Awards. 
2. Ensure that committee appointments reflect the geographic, ethnic, and institutional diversity of NACADA.
3. Review annually the awards selection process and make modifications as appropriate.
4. Conduct the awards presentations at the Awards Ceremony at Annual Conference.