Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board

2021 ELP-AB.jpg

Mission: The Emerging Leaders Program (ELP) exists to encourage members from diverse groups to get involved in leadership opportunities within the organization; outfit participants with the skills and tools necessary to pursue leadership positions within NACADA; increase the number of leaders from diverse groups, and encourage and assist members of underrepresented populations to attend state, regional, or national conferences.

Function: The ELP Advisory Board's role is to

  • assist the Executive Office in identifying members from diverse backgrounds and encouraging them to apply to become an Emerging Leader or Mentor
  • make recommendations to the Executive Office regarding policies and procedures related to publicizing the program, the selection of ELP Classes, and funding of program participants
  • assist the Executive Office with development and implementation the programming/curriculum for the ELP Orientation sessions that take place at the Annual Conference
  • review Program progress on a regular basis and make recommendations to the Executive Office for changes or improvement

Membership: Most ELP-AB members have taken part in the program as an Emerging Leader and/or Mentor and are dedicated to utilizing their experience of the program to assist with its continuance and help improve it for future class members. ELP-AB members serve a two-year term and meet on-site yearly at the NACADA annual conference. Online meetings via the Zoom platform take place as needed throughout the year.

How to Get Involved

Those interested in becoming involved in the advisory board's work should review the "ELP-AB Member Roles & Responsibilities" document in the Member Responsibilities module in the right-hand column of this page, and then contact Executive Office ELP-AB Executive Office Liaison (ELP Program Coordinator).

Advisory Board Chair (2020-2022)

Meagan Hagerty.jpg
Meagan Hagerty



Meagan Hagerty, Chair (2020-2022), Anthology, Inc. (Region 6) (2016-2024)
Jared Burton, Incoming Chair (2022-2024) Pima County Community College (Region 10) (2017-2023)
Amy Korthank, Immediate Past Chair (2018-2020), University of Iowa (Region 6) (2016-2022)
Carol Pollard, ELP Historian, University of North Texas (Region 7) (2008-2024)
Tara Maroney, New York State School Boards Association (Region 1) (2019-2023)
Chris Kirchhof, University of Pittsburgh (Region 2) (2022-2024)
Domonique Carter, North Carolina State University (Region 3) (2019-2023)
Amy Brock, Auburn University (Region 4) (2019-2023)
Lindsey Byrd, Walden University (Region 4) (2020-2022)
Jonathan Hallford, Auburn University (Region 4) (2022-2024)
Patricia MacMillan, University of Ontario Institute of Technology (Region 5) (2018-2022)
Leonor Wangensteen, University of Notre Dame (Region 5) (2020-2024)
Iyabode Okoro, Indiana University School of Medicine (Region 5) (2021-2023)
Maureen Schafer, University of Iowa (Region 6) (2022-2024)
Kevin Thomas, University of Central Arkansas (Region 7) (2021-2023)
Leah Frierson, Washington University (Region 7) (2022-2024)
Andrea Harris, Pepperdine University (Region 9) (2021-2023)
Leigh Cunningham, ELP Coordinator, Executive Office 
Joan Krush, Incoming ELP Coordinator, Executive Office 

Subcommittee Assignments

(NOTE: The Advisory Board Chair is a member of all subcommittees but will appoint sub-chairs as appropriate)

Marketing / Recruitment (for 2022-2024 Class): Leonor Wangensteen, Lindsey Byrd, Jared Burton, and Kevin Thomas

 - Virtual: Tara Maroney, Andrea Harris
 - On-site (Portland): Patricia MacMillan, Domonique Carter, and Leonor Wangansteen

Outreach to non-selected applicants (for 2022-2024 Class): Lindsey Byrd and Andrea Harris

Conference Presentation Organization (for 2022 conferences): Amy Korthank and Iyabode Okoro
  Presentation template and handout may be attained from Leigh
Proposal Submitters:
Region 1 - Jen Plante, Carlota Deseda0Coon
Region 2 -  Amber King, Banks Blair
Region 3 - Suanne Early
Region 4 - Jonathan Hallford
Region 5 - Iyabode Okoro, Leonor Wangensteen
Region 6 - Jake Rudy, Amy Korthank

Region 7 - Mark Nelson, Sam Murdock, Christina Bowles, Rebecca Hapes
Region 8 - Leah Panganiban, Kyle Ross, Sally Garner

Region 9 - Winnie Tang, Matt Markin
Region 10 - Brandan Lowden, Sarah Maddox

2022 Annual Conference (Portland, 10/23-26): Meagan Hagerty, Jared Burton, Leigh Cunningham

Incoming Class Orientation (2022-2024 Class): Meagan Hagerty (Chair), Jared Burton (Incoming Chair), Leigh Cunningham

Emerging Leader Accomplishments


Next Meeting

Scheduling will be available soon for the 2022 ELP-AB annual meeting, which will take place virtually.

Contact the EO Liaison for information about future virtual meetings.