Global Initiatives Committee


Function: The Committee on Global Initiatives assists with the recruitment, retention and support of international academic advising professionals through developing and implementing strategies and activities. The Committee will work in partnership with the EO and other committees. The committee will assist the EO in determining professional development opportunities for our global members, which may include but are not limited to research, publications, webcasts, symposiums, institutes, and conferences. The Committee will assist, if needed, in the planning and implementing of the opportunities.

Membership: Committee members must be NACADA members. Committee members are appointed by the Committee Chair with the approval by the Division Reps from recommendations from other leaders throughout the organization or by members contacting the GIC showing interest in an appointment. GIC will recruit a diverse committee membership to ensure global representation that informs the work of the GIC. The Committee Chair must have completed, prior to taking office, a full term as a respective committee member. Membership is for a two-year renewable term. 

The GIC is composed of a Chair and 15 members-at-large. The GIC meet yearly on-site at the NACADA annual conference. Online meetings via the Zoom platform take place as needed throughout the year.

How to Get Involved

Individuals interested in assisting with the GIC and/or becoming a member of the GIC should review the committee's Function and Goals and can contact the Chair or EO Liaison for more information and/or to express their interest in participating. Interested individuals are also encouraged to attend the GIC meeting at the annual and international conferences. GIC is particularly interested in having a diverse committee membership with global representation.

Committee Chair (2020-2022)



Susan Corner
University of Victoria, Canada




Laura Bey, Duke University, United States (2020-2022)
Colum Cronin, Dublin City University, Ireland (2020-2022)
Matt Eng, University of Hawaii-Manoa, United States (2021-2023)
Efrosini Hortis, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, US (representing Greece) (2020-2022)
Ling Gao LeBeau, Syracuse University, United States (2021-2023)
Catherine Mann, University of Melbourne, Australia (2021-2023)
Margaret Mbindyo, Millersville University, United States (2021-2023)
Yoshinobu Onishi, Chiba University, Japan (2020-2022) 
Gavin Farber, Temple University, United States (2021-2023
Penny Robinson, United Kingdom (2020-2022)
Steven Schaffling, Syracuse University, International Conf. Adv. Board representative (2020-2022)
Kathy Stockwell, United States (2020-2022)
Rasha Tawfik, University of Calgary, Canada (2020-2022)
Aruna Ullal, American University of the Caribbean, the Caribbean, Netherlands (2021-2023)
Wuriyeti Litip (Harriet), Tsinghua University, China (2020-2022)
Karen Sullivan-Vance, NACADA Executive Office Liaison



Next Meeting

The GIC meets monthly and has meetings in the morning and evening in an effort to accommodate members from around the globe.

If you would like to join the meeting, contact


Committee Information