International Conference Advisory Board

Mission: The International Conference Advisory Board is charged  with working with the NACADA Executive Office, the Global Initiatives Committee, and the yearly international conference committee to provide support to ensure the highest quality international conferences are held each year. The responsibilities of the Advisory Board may include, but are not limited to, assisting in identifying sites for the conference, in identifying chairs for the conference, in identifying conference themes and speakers, and in identifying the methods of assessing the effectiveness of the conference annually.

Membership: Advisory board members serve a two-year appointment and meet yearly at the NACADA Annual Conference. Members are asked to participate in a listserv and to join subcommittees when projects arise. The advisory board members are chosen with the intent of showing representation across the globe. Attendance at a NACADA international conference is necessary to be considered an appointment.

How to become involved: Representation from across the globe is the intention. It is our goal to keep the board diversified. Interested persons need to have attended at least one NACADA international conference and be a current member of NACADA. If interested in joining the advisory board, please contact Rhonda Baker. New members are identified and selected each spring.

Current Chair

Karen Sullivan-Vance, University of Tennessee Knoxville, USA  (2017 - 2020)


Rui Geng, Tsinghua University, China (2017 - 2020)

Carita Harrell, Arizona State University, USA (2017 - 2020)

Hoi Ning Ngai, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, USA (2017 - 2019)

Sayaka Oeda, International Christian University, Japan (2017 - 2019)

Charles O'Leary, University of Melbourne, Australia (2017 - 2019)

Peg Steele, Ohio State University, USA (2017 - 2020)

Penny Robinson, UKAT representative, United Kingdom (2018-2020)

Maryam Al Badi, Zayed University, Abu Dhabi, UAE (2018-2020)

Steven Schaffling, Syracuse University, USA (2018-2020)

John Craig, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, US (2018-2020)