Membership Recruitment and Retention Committee



MissionThe Membership Recruitment and Retention Committee will build and retain membership through effective recruitment activities – with specific focus on prospective members and new members during the first two-years of NACADA membership – as well as reviewing and recommending policies, procedures, and strategies for maintaining and enhancing membership.

The Committee will serve NACADA through:

  • Fostering prospective members knowledge and involvement with the academic advising profession and the association
  • Connecting new members with the association in both the first and second year of membership
  • Working with the NACADA Leadership and the Executive Office to review, recommend, and develop general policies, procedures, and strategies for recruiting and enhancing the membership of the association.

How to Get Involved:

Anyone interested in the work of the MRRC Committee is welcome to attend the committee’s business meeting at NACADA’s annual conference each year. If you’re unable to attend and want more information on the committee and our current projects, please contact the MRRC Chair. Committee members are appointed to serve two-year terms and there are no specific professional requirements individuals must possess to be appointed to the committee. Consideration will be given to ensure the committee is diverse in representation whether it be institutional type and/or positions held in higher education.

Committee Chair (2023-2025)





Erin Donahoe-Rankin
University of North Texas
(Committee term - 2020-2023)
(Chair term - 2023-2025)


The Committee Chair will serve two-year term and is elected by committee members. The Past-Chair will serve for one year after her/his term has ended.  The Chair of the Committee will:

  • Appoint new members to the committee annually
  • Coordinate the activities of the committee and communicate with members via the committee listserv
  • Submit agenda for Annual Conference meeting, lead committee meeting, and submit minutes from Annual Conference meeting.
  • Serve as representative / liaison to Sustainable Leadership Committee
  • Submit a post-conference Leadership report in the fall in which goals are established for the committee and activities planned for the coming year, indicating their relation to the specific missions in the NACADA Strategic Plan
  • Submit an annual Leadership report in the summer to advise the Council and Board of the status of the completion of goals established and activities planned for the committee over the past year in relation to the NACADA missions and strategies.


Region 1
Ryan Howlett
Syracuse University
(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 2

Monica Jacobe
University of Pennsylvania
(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 3

Jennifer Stevens
University of Kentucky
(1st term - 2022-2024)


Region 4

Victoria McCord
University of Mississippi
(1st term - 2022-2024)

Region 5
Bryce Johnsen

Governors State University

(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 6

Katherine Mehrer

University of Mary
(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 7
Christina Bowles
Missouri State Univeristy
(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 8
Tawny Townsend
Everett Community College
(1st term - 2022-2024)

Region 9

Lorena Facio
California State Polytechnic University Pomona
(1st term - 2023-2025)

Region 10
Ashley Glenn
University of Utah
(1st term - 2021-2023)

(2nd term - 2023-2025)

Past Chair

Mara Gould
University of Massachusetts Boston
(1st term - 2019-2021)
(2nd term - 2021-2023)


Global Initiatives Committee Liaison


Global Representative
Rasha Tawfik
American University of Sharjah
(1st term - 2022-2024)

Executive Office Liaison
Joan Krush, Asst. Dir., Member Engagement