Publications Advisory Board

Mission: The Publications Advisory Board (PAB) oversees the recommendation of topics to offer NACADA members a wide variety of high quality print-based materials that provide professional development and promote and advance the field of advising in the larger academic community.

Function: PAB members review and comment on current (but older) print-based materials as well as review proposals for new publications. Most reviews occur between February and July. The PAB also advises the Executive Office on advising topics that could benefit from print-based materials. 

Membership: The PAB is composed of current NACADA members who read and/or write for NACADA publications.  Members serve a two-year term and meet yearly at the NACADA annual conference. Those interested in becoming a member should contact the PAB chair (email link below) or  

How to Get Involved

While some PAB members have written for a NACADA publication, many first served as a publication reviewer. Reviewers are chosen from the NACADA members who complete the Application to review NACADA-produced books. To be considered to future reviews email your completed form to

Advisory Board Chair (2020-2022)

Holly Martin, University of Notre Dame


The Chair of the Advisory Board facilitates the work of the group by:

  • Working with the Executive Office staff on issues that need attention or discussion.
  • Serving as the chair of the Publications Advisory Board's management team.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board discussion on issues via email and/or conference calls.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board meetings during the Annual Conference.
  • Working with the Executive Office and the President on appointment of new members each year.
  • Providing written reports to the Board of Directors at least twice annually. 


Quentin Alexander, George Mason University (2017-2021)
Karen Archambault, Rowan College at Burlington County (2019-2023)
Regan Baker, University of Kansas (2018-2022)
LaDonna Bridges, Framingham State University (2018-2022)
Chrissy Davis Jones, HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College (2017-2021)
Michael Dial, University of South Carolina (2020-2022) 
Cindy Firestein, Simmons University (2019-2023) 
Julie Givans Voller, Phoenix College (2020-2022)
David Grey, UKAT (UK) (2018-2022)
Peter Hagen, Stockton University (2017-2021)
Sarah Howard, The Ohio State University (2018-2022)
Okoro Iyabode, Indiana University School of Medicine (2021-2023)
Shantelea Johns, Wayne State University (2018-2022)
Laura Kotti, University of South Carolina (2019-2021)
Kathryn Larson, University of Nebraska-Omaha (2020-2022)
Donna Menke, Mid-Plains Community College (2021-2023)
Pamela Stephens, Fairmont State University (2020-2022)
Leonor Wangensteen, University of Notre Dame (2021-2023)

 Ex Officio Members:
Ashley Thomas, NACADA Executive Office Liaison
Susan CampbellNACADA Journal co-editor (2016 - 2021), University of Southern Maine, emerita 
Lisa Rubin, NACADA Journal co-editor (2020-2023), Kansas State University
Leigh Cunningham, NACADA Executive Office
Lizbeth AlcantaraNACADA Executive Office

Next Meeting

The Publications Advisory Board Pre-Annual meeting will be held virtually on:

July 23, 2021 at 11:00am (central)

The Publications Advisory Board Annual meeting will be held virtually on:

September 27, 2021 at 11:00am (central)

Agendas will be posted when available

Individuals who are not Publications Advisory Board members and who are interested in attending these meetings may email Executive Office liaison, Ashley Thomas (

Member Information