Global Engagement Advising Community

The Global Engagement Advising Community aims to create a space where advisors can share their knowledge and experience of working with ESL, international and education abroad students. The community once merged with the Study Abroad Interest Group and hopes to encourage advisors to share and discuss approaches, techniques and strategies used to advise global student populations. The Global Engagement community promotes the values of diversity, inclusivity and global citizenship.

March 2020 Munch & Learn

Crossing Time Zones with the Global Engagement and Small Colleges & Universities Advising Communities

A panel of advisors from the Global Engagement and Small Colleges & Universities Advising Communities will discuss differences and considerations in educational systems across the globe. With our global association ever expanding, it’s important for advisors to be aware of the differences and similarities in higher education systems as they relate to academic advising across the globe.

Panelists will represent perspectives from the United Kingdom, Greece, New Zealand, Australia, Iraq, Japan, and the U.S. Attendees are encouraged to come prepared with questions about the differences in these educational systems. Topics covered will include differences in degree structures, kinds of advising delivered, university personnel structure, university support resources, approaches to struggling students, and more.

Come join us for breakfast, brunch, lunch, tea, happy hour, dinner, or a midnight snack!

Date: Thursday, March 19th 
Time: 9:00 am – 10:00 am CST (8:00am MST, 3:00pm London, Midnight Japan)  Use the time zone converter to check the time where you are

Join via Zoom: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/734649929 

Current Chair

 

effie2


Efrosini Hortis
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville