Social Justice Advising Community

The NACADA Social Justice Advising Community aims to provide a space in which advisors can join in solidarity to promote scholarship, move theory to practice, and increase professional development opportunities related to advising and social justice. Social justice acknowledges that we live in an inequitable world and that each of us has a responsibility to work towards a more empowering society.  Advisors have the power to contribute to student success by identifying and implementing inclusive and equitable practices. By recognizing advising’s contribution in creating equitable educational institutions, advisors are empowered to ensure that systems, environments and practices are intentional and recognize students’ needs along with their complex and intersecting identities.

Social Justice Advising Community’s Conversations

Social Justice in the Age of the Pandemic

Date: June 24, 2020 
Time: 3pm EDT, 2pm CDT, noon PDT, 9am HST, 7pm UTC

During these difficult times as academic advisors across the country demonstrate their resilience and dedication to serving students through the COVID-19 pandemic; we must not forget that some of our students may be experiencing several uniquely compounded difficulties, with little to no support. Specifically, it is these students within already marginalized groups within our campuses that are often among the students that are also those least likely to seek help under normal circumstances, that happen to become further disjointed during times such as these.  As our institutions continue to adapt and strive to serve all students equally, now, more than ever, it is vital that as a global advising community we share key advice and best practices regarding critical barriers and concerns that virtual learning and advising present to the less privileged student now and into the future.

As we reflect on these surmountable concerns, it is our hope that you join in the exchange of thoughtful insight and knowledgeable tools and resources being utilized to drive the push to service the lesser served for a live web event focused on the sharing of ideas and initiatives to address these matters in advising.

Join via Zoom here: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/91165814639?pwd=MnhTaDExMDVSMUdZZWVHMEJkTmRIZz09

Meeting ID: 911 6581 4639
Password: 672757 

_________________________________________________________________________

Xenophobia, Anti-Asian Racism, and Intolerance: How to support Students, Faculty, and Staff during Covid-19

With the rise in anti-Asian and Asian American racism and xenophobia harassment across the United States, we are offering this session as a way to learn more about how to support students, faculty, and staff during this stressful time. Specifically, we will discuss the history of anti-Asian racism in the U.S., recent racist incidents, tips for how to respond (personally or as an ally) when witnessing harassment, how to help students process incidents of racism, and resources to share with your colleagues and students. Panelists will share their personal stories, as well as best practices for advising students who are experiencing anti-Asian harassment either in person or online.

Panelists include:

  • Yung-Hwa Anna Chow, Washington State University
  • Sisouvanh Keopanapay, Washington State University
  • Megumi Makino-Kanehiro, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
  • Leah Panganiban, University of Washington
  • Kiana Shiroma, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

In preparation for the session, please submit any questions or thoughts you may have by Monday, June 15, 2020 to the form at forms.gle/FAokzsGeDTde3Fge6

 

After our presentation, we will address as many questions as we can in our live Q&A session on Monday, June 22. The presentation will be at noon central. For information and to access the presentation, visit the Global Connection Series