Inclusion and Engagement Committee

2020-2021 IEC.jpg

Mission: The Inclusion and Engagement Committee (IEC, formerly known as the Diversity Committee) supports the association's Diversity Statement: NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising values and promotes inclusive practices within the association and the advising profession.  NACADA provides opportunities for professional development, networking, and leadership for our diverse membership and fosters involvement and engagement across identity groups, geographic regions, and professional levels.  NACADA promotes the principle of equity and respects the diversity of advising professionals across the vast array of intersections of identity, which includes but is not limited to age cohort, institutional type, employment role, location, nationality, socioeconomic status, faith, religion, ethnicity, ability/disability, gender identity, gender expression, and/or sexual orientation.

Involvement in the association is viewed broadly, including participation and/or leadership at many levels (within the division units, at the division level, at the Council level, at the Board of Directors level, and with the various work groups, ad hoc committees, and task forces), serving with the Consultant and Speaker Service, writing for a NACADA publication (such as the Journal, Academic Advising Today, and the NACADA Clearinghouse of Academic Advising Resources), or presenting at state, allied member, regional, annual, or international conferences.

Function: The role IEC is to make recommendations regarding inclusion and engagement issues within the Association. The committee reviews the status of inclusion and engagement within the organization, recommends methods for enhancing practices, and advises on how the association can better meet the needs of its diverse membership

Membership: IEC members serve a two-year term and meet yearly on-site at the NACADA annual conference. Online meetings via the Zoom platform take place as needed throughout the year.  Hear from three committee members HERE.  

How to Get Involved

Those interested in learning more about the IEC's work and/or in becoming a member may wish to attend the committee's yearly on-site meeting at Annual Conference. The Committee Chair is also always willing to discuss the group's work with interested NACADA members. The expertise/skills needed by committee members will be determined by the group's current projects. Prospective members may be offered an opportunity to assist with the work of one of the current subcommittees to have a chance to experience the type of contribution and commitment that would be expected from them as a member. Those interested in assisting with the IEC's work and/or in becoming a member should review the "I&E Committee Member Roles & Responsibilities" document in the  Member Responsibilities module in the right-hand column of this page, and then contact the committee's Executive Office Liaison: Leigh Cunningham

  • Inclusion matters to me because I care about social justice.Sarah E. Stevens, University of Southern Indiana
  • When I was presented the opportunity to be a part of the Inclusion and Engagement Committee, I was excited about the opportunity to become more involved, especially as it related to helping the organization.Heather Doyle, Dalhousie University
  • Having a diverse NACADA means having a strong NACADA. We need people of all races, genders, religions, geographic areas, sexualities, types of institutions, and backgrounds!Sarah E. Stevens, University of Southern Indiana
  • My time on the Inclusion and Engagement Committee has been so fulfilling…both understanding all the different lenses of the membership, as well as helping to come up with ideas and opportunities for diversification. It has been a rewarding experience, and a great Committee to be part of!Heather Doyle, Dalhousie University
  • I like being a part of NACADA because I get to network with all types of colleagues from all over world!Sarah E. Stevens, University of Southern Indiana
  • Out of many Advisors, we are one NACADA!Locksley A. Knibbs, Florida Gulf Coast University
  • I support the work of the Inclusion and Engagement Committee because it’s our differences that make NACADA such an interesting, fun, strong, and vibrant community.Mehvash Ali, American University of Sharjah
  • The NACADA Inclusion and Engagement Committee allows us to improve the art of thinking independently together.Abbie Windsor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Diversity is the one true thing we all have in common. This committee strives to continue that unity.Abbie Windsor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • The beauty of NACADA lies in its membership…diverse people with vast knowledge and different perspectives.Monica Jones, University of Arkansas - Pulaski Technical College
  • Diversity in higher education is of the utmost importance. The opportunity to interact with individuals with backgrounds, beliefs, and views other than our own allows us to expand our thought process and see our world through a different lens. Corey Sampsel, University of Michigan
  • I am involved with the NACADA Inclusion and Engagement committee because I know our organization is only as strong as it is inclusive of all our members. I want every NACADA member to let their voice be heard.Carol Pollard, University of North Texas
  • As a Canadian member of NACADA, I appreciate the work that the organization is doing to ensure that the leadership is reflective of the membership, and that all voices have a chance to be heard.Heather Doyle, Dalhousie University

Committee Chair (2019-2021)

Locksley Knibbs.jpg



Locksley Knibbs
Florida Gulf Coast University 




Locksley Knibbs, Chair (2019-2021) Florida Gulf Coast University (Region 4) (2017-2023)
Mark Nelson, Incoming Chair (2021-2023) Oklahoma State University (Region 7) (2015-2023)
Meagan Hagerty, Chair ELP-AB, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (Region 6) (2020-2022)
Autumn Grant, Wheaten College (Region 1) (2019-2021)
Tyler Hall, Dalhousie University (Canada-Region 1) (2021-2023)
Quentin Alexander, Longwood University (Region 2) (2019-2021)
Lavonia Lewis, Henderson Community College (Region 2) (2020-2022)
Kalani Palmer, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (Region 2) (2021-2023)
Ahmad Sims, Western Kentucky University (Region 3) (2018-2022) 
Cody Harrison, Lincoln Memorial University (Regio 3) (2021-2023)
Vonetta Hardy, University of Alabama at Birmingham (Region 4) (2019-2021)
Amy Brock, Auburn University (Region 4) (2020-2022)
Syndy Gilliam-Ulee, Florida A&M University (Region 4) (2020-2022)
Adriene Hampton-Webster, Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University, Region 4 (2021-2023)
Leonor Wangensteen, University of Notre Dame (Region 5) (2019-2021)
Darryl Cherry, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, Region 5 (2021-2023)
Caitlin Rovner, Chaldron State College (Canada-Region 6) (2020-2022)
Joshua Adams, Texas Woman's University (Region 7) (2016-2022)
Lorna Hamill, University of Washington (Region 8) (2019-2021)
Tracy Pascua Dea, University of California Berkeley (Region 9) (2019-2023)
Andrea Harris, Pepperdine University, Region 9 (2021-2023)
Jill Putman, Colorado State University (Region 10) (2019-2021)
Sarah Maddox, Colorado State University (Region 10) (2019-2021)
Leigh Cunningham, NACADA Executive Office Liaison


Structural Review Subcommittee: Ahmad Sims (Lead), 

Data Subcommittee: Quentin Alexander (Lead), 

Next Meeting

The IEC's annual meeting will take place on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 from noon-1pm CDT.

(Please convert to your Time Zone.)

Contact the EO Liaison (Leigh Cunningham) for the meeting link.