Advising Communities Division Steering Committee

The Advising Communities Division (ACD) steering committee consists of two division representatives (one appointed, one elected); the Executive Office liaison to the ACD; and one member per cluster (selected by the division representatives to serve two-year, staggered terms). That one member representative per cluster is called a Cluster Rep.  All members of the steering committee must have completed at least one full term as a Chair. 

View the Division Rep Expectations

Gavin Farber
Temple University

Division Rep -
Elected (2021-2023)

Past Chair of Advisor Training & Development Advising Community


Wendy Schindler
Northern Kentucky University

Division Rep - 
Appointed (2020-2022) 

Past chair of LGBTQA Advising & Advocacy Community and Past Cluster Rep

Tony Lazarowicz
University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Committee Member
and Cluster 1 Rep ('20-'22)

Former Chair of Transfer Students Advising Community


Jamie Heck
University of Cincinnati

Committee Member and Cluster 2 Rep ('21-'23)

Former Chair of Graduate & Professional Students Advising Community

Teresa Sypolt
Walden University, Baltimore

Committee Member and Cluster 3 Rep ('20-'22)

Former Chair of Adult Learners Advising Community


Tyler Hall
Dalhousie University

Committee Member and Cluster 4 Rep ('21-'23)

Former Chair of Appreciative Advising Community


Sarah Banner
Mesa Community College

Committee member and Cluster 5 Rep ('21-'23)

Former Chair of Two-Year Colleges Advising Community


John Sauter
Niagara University

Committee member and Cluster 6 Rep ('20-'22)

Former Chair of Technology in Advising Community


Darryl Cherry
Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

Committee member and Cluster 7 Rep 

Former Chair of First-Year Students Advising Community


Sarah Howard
The Ohio State University

Committee member and Cluster 8 Rep ('20-'22)

Former Chair of Technology Advising Community







Lizbeth Alcantara
Executive Office Liaison

Assignment of Advising Communities

Assignment of Clusters — Cluster Reps are assigned a specific cluster of communities and serve in a support role as a point of contact with those groups in carrying out their responsibilities.   

2021-2023 Clusters PDF Handout

Cluster 1

Cluster Rep: Tony Lazarowicz

  • First-Generation College Students
  • Assessment of Advising
  • Education Majors
  • Appreciative Advising
  • LGBTQA Advising & Advocacy

Cluster 2

Cluster Rep: Jamie Heck

  • Graduate & Professional Students
  • Students with Disabilities
  • Advising Administration
  • High School to College Advising
  • Liberal Arts

Cluster 3

Cluster Rep: Teresa Sypolt

  • Career Advising
  • Canadian Advising
  • Adult Learners
  • Faculty Advising
  • Undecided & Exploratory Students

Cluster 4

Cluster Rep: Tyler Hall

  • STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics
  • Theory, Philosophy, & History of Advising
  • Student Athletes
  • Social Justice
  • High Achieving Students

Cluster 5

Cluster Rep: Sarah Banner

  • Business Majors
  • Historically Black Colleges & Universities
  • Health Professions
  • Peer Advising & Mentoring
  • Two-Year Colleges

Cluster 6

Cluster Rep: John Sauter

  • Probation/Dismissal/ Reinstatement Issues
  • Technology in Advising
  • Transfer Students
  • Well-Being & Advisor Retention

Cluster 7

Cluster Rep: Darryl Cherry

  • Small Colleges & Universities
  • Global Engagement
  • Advisor Training & Development
  • Students with Experiences in the Foster Care System

Cluster 8

Cluster Rep: Sarah Howard

  • Distance Advising for Online Education
  • Veterans, Military Students, and Family Members
  • First-Year Students
  • Academic Coaching


Updated April 2022