AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community



The Diversity Committee developed the NACADA Emerging Leaders Program to encourage members from diverse backgrounds to get involved in leadership opportunities within the organization, outfit participants with the skills and tools necessary to pursue elected and appointed leadership positions, increase the number of leaders from diverse groups, and encourage and assist members of underrepresented populations to attend State, Regional, or National Conferences

The 2007-2009 Emerging Leaders and Mentors, who began work at the 2007 Annual Conference in Baltimore, have been diligently pursuing their goals over the past year and look forward to reuniting at this year's Conference in Chicago, where they will assist with the Silent Auction.

2007-2009 Emerging Leader Carol Pollard (University of North Texas) says, “The ELP program has expanded my view of advising and opened so many doors for me within advising and the association. I will be Exhibits Chair for the 2009 Annual Conference in San Antonio. I would never have attempted to be a ‘chair’ without the wonderful mentorship and learning opportunities afforded me by this past year. The friendships, contacts, and training have been remarkable; I know this is just the beginning!”

2007-2009 Mentor Jayne Drake (Temple University) says, “Having the opportunity to cultivate the next generation of leadership in the Association is enormously gratifying for me. I am both pleased and humbled to have a role in this important program.”

The Diversity Committee and the Emerging Leaders Development Team are pleased to announce the 2008-2010 NACADA Emerging Leaders and Mentors.

Emerging Leaders
Susan Anderson (University of St. Thomas)
Joyce Ellenwood (Bethune-Cookman University)
Aura Rios Erickson (Shoreline Community College)
Darren Francis (University of the Fraser Valley)
Arnell Hammond (Indiana University Bloomington)
Brian Hinterscher (University of Southern Indiana)
Rodney Mondor (University of Southern Maine)
Les Ridingin (University of Texas at Arlington)
Christy Walker (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Jobila Williams (College of William and Mary)

Scott Amundsen (University of North Carolina - Wilmington)
Sarah Ann Hones (Washington State University)
Nancy King (Kennesaw State University)
Pamela Marsh-Williams (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
Deborah Nakashima (Hawaii Pacific University)
Lisa Peck (Western Connecticut State University)
Marion Schwartz (Penn State University)
Kathy Stockwell (Fox Valley Technical College)
Stacy Woycheck (University of Maryland, College Park)
Dana Zahorik (Fox Valley Technical College)

New Emerging Leaders and Mentors will meet at the Annual Conference in Chicago to create partnerships and begin development, conversation, and group building. Partners will develop goals pertaining to leadership in NACADA over the next six months and continue their work together over the two-year program.


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.