AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community


The Diversity Committee developed the NACADA Emerging Leaders Program to encourage members from diverse backgrounds to get involved in leadership opportunities within the organization, outfit participants with the skills and tools necessary to pursue elected and appointed leadership positions, increase the number of leaders from diverse groups, and encourage and assist members of underrepresented populations to attend State, Regional, or Annual Conferences.

ELP.jpgMembers of the Emerging Leaders Classes currently serve, have served, or have been elected/appointed to serve as Region 7 Chair, Region 8 Chair, Multicultural Concerns Commission Chair, GLBTA Concerns Commission Chair, Two-Year Colleges Commission Chair, Advising Transfer Students Commission Chair, Small Colleges and Universities Commission Chair, Faculty Advising Commission Chair, Canada Interest Group Chair, Native American and Tribal College Interest Group Chair, New Advising Professionals Interest Group Chair, Ethics & Legal Issues in Advising Interest Group Chair, Membership Committee Chair, Diversity Committee Chair, Member Career Services Committee Chair, Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board Chair, and Webcast Advisory Board Chair. Emerging Leaders have served or are serving on the Awards Committee, the Diversity Committee, the Finance Committee, the Membership Committee, the Member Career Services Committee, the Professional Development Committee, the Research Committee, the Webinar Advisory Board, the Annual Conference Advisory Board, the Summer Institute Advisory Board, the Administrators Institute Advisory Board, the Publications Advisory Board, the AACSS Advisory Board, and the Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board. One Emerging Leader initiated the Interest Group for Historically Black Colleges and Universities. A number of Emerging Leaders have presented (some with their Mentors) at Regional and Annual Conferences, and several have served on Region or Conference Steering Committees. One served as the Exhibits Chair for the 2009 Annual Conference in San Antonio, and another as Chair of the 2010 Annual Conference in Orlando. Emerging Leaders have written for Academic Advising Today and NACADA monographs, taken part in Webinar broadcast presentations, and been awarded NACADA Research Grants. Emerging Leaders also report that they have become more involved at their home institutions. One said, “We’ve taken what we’ve learned through the program back to our home school. This program has not only made an impact on NACADA, but also on the institutions where the NACADA ELP participants work.”  To learn more about the contributions of our first five ELP Classes, visit the Program homepage and watch the video of their accomplishments (posted above and also available on the NACADA YouTube channel ) 

The 2010-2012 Emerging Leaders and Mentors, who began work at the 2010 Annual Conference in Orlando, have been diligently pursuing their goals over the past two years and look forward to receiving their Certificates of Completion at this year's Conference in Nashville, where they will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony.

Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board Chair Sandy Waters (Old Dominion University) is pleased to announce the 2012-2014 NACADA Emerging Leaders and Mentors.


Emerging Leaders


Terri Baker (Drexel University)
Sonia Esquivel (US Air Force Academy)
Ana Frega (Laramie County Community College)
Amy Korthank Gabaldon (University of Iowa)
Lisa Haas (American Intercontinental University-Online)
Vanessa Harris (University of New Mexico)
Meghan Ingstrup (Brookdale Community College)
Erin Justyna Hayes (Texas Tech University)
Hyun-Soon Kong (University of Manitoba)
Scott Vaughn (East Tennessee State University)




Karen Archambault (Brookdale Community College)
Rebecca Daly Cofer (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College)
Deb Dotterer (Michigan State University)
Shelly Gehrke (Emporia State University)
Judi Haskins (Montana State University)
Laura Pasquini (University of North Texas)
Susan Poch (Washington State University)
Wanda Reyes-Dawes (Manchester Community College)
Jo Stewart (Brock University)
Bill Torgler (The University of Akron)

New Emerging Leaders and Mentors will meet at the Annual Conference in Nashville to create partnerships and begin development, conversation, and group building. Partners will develop goals pertaining to leadership in NACADA over the next six months and continue their work together over the two-year program.

Visit the Emerging Leaders Program website for more information.


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.