AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community


Meagan Hagerty, Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board Chair 2020-2022
Jared Burton, Incoming Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board Chair 2022-2024
Leigh Cunningham, Emerging Leaders Program Coordinator

NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising is committed to providing opportunities for professional development, networking, and leadership for our diverse membership (Vision and Mission). Association strategic goals include developing and sustaining effective leadership, as well as fostering inclusive practices within the association that respect the principle of equity and the diversity of advising professionals across the vast array of intersections of identity (Strategic Goals). To support these goals, the NACADA Emerging Leaders Program (ELP) was developed in 2006, as an initiative from the (then) Diversity Committee (now the Inclusion & Engagement Committee), to encourage members from diverse backgrounds to explore and get involved in leadership opportunities within the organization. 

Each year, beginning with the 2007-2009 Class, 10 Emerging Leaders and 10 Mentors are selected for the two-year program. Emerging Leaders are matched with Mentors who have a wide range of experience within NACADA, from research and publication to serving on the Board of Directors. Emerging Leaders and Mentors work closely to connect the Leaders to the areas of the association they are interested in and develop a plan for continued involvement and growth within the association. Emerging Leaders receive a $2,000 stipend to assist them with travel to NACADA conferences, institutes, and seminars, helping to promote their engagement and involvement.

This year we are celebrating the 15th anniversary of this important program! With fifteen years of successful leadership development now behind us, we are excited to recognize the many members of the Emerging Leaders classes who have served in elected and appointed positions—as chairs of NACADA regions, advising communities, committees, advisory boards, and task forces—as well as those who have stepped up to leadership in other services, scholarship, and research areas. ELPers have already made a lasting contribution to NACADA and have a long list of accomplishments.

The 2020-2022 Emerging Leaders and Mentors, who began their virtually work during the coronavirus pandemic, have been diligently pursuing their goals over the past two years and look forward to coming together onsite to receive their Certificates of Completion this October at the Annual Conference in Portland, OR.

ELP 2020-2022 Class.jpg

Current Emerging Leaders Program Advisory Board Chair Meagan Hagerty is pleased to announce the 2022-2024 NACADA Emerging Leaders and Mentors

Emerging Leaders

Erica Brown-Meredith, Longwood University
Bethany Jordan, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Amanda Lager Gleason, Colorado State University
Isabelle Langham, Tennessee State University
Benjamin Norris, Frostburg State University
Kalani Palmer, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Khadijah Peak-Brown, Tidewater Community College
Ali Ressing, Northeastern University
Erica Stubblefield, Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing
My'Chael Willis, Norfolk State University


Michael ‘Brody’ Broshears, University of Southern Indiana
Jeff Elliott, Purdue University
Matt Eng, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
Michael Geroux, University at Albany, SUNY
Rebecca Hapes, Texas A&M University
Andrea Harris, Pepperdine University
Patricia MacMillan, Ontario Tech University
John Sauter, Niagara University
Isaiah Vance, Texas A&M University
Lisa Yamin, Virginia Commonwealth University

The new Class of Emerging Leaders and Mentors have been meeting over the summer and will continue working virtually and on-site to create partnerships and begin development, conversation, and group-building. Partners will develop goals pertaining to leadership in NACADA over the next six months and continue their work together over the two-year program.

We toast this amazing program and look forward to seeing many more Classes arise in the years ahead!

Meagan Hagerty
ELP Advisory Board Chair, 2020-2022
University of Minnesota

Jared Burton
Incoming ELP Advisory Board Chair, 2022-2024
Pima Community College

Leigh Cunningham
ELP Coordinator
NACADA Executive Office
Kansas State University




There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.

Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.

Search Academic Advising Today