AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community


The election of NACADA leadership positions for terms beginning in October 2004, began on January 9 when the new online voting system was made accessible to all eligible voting NACADA members. Candidates were seeking election to a variety of positions, including NACADA President, Vice President, Board of Directors members, Region Chairs, Commission Chairs, and Committee Chairs. The election process for these positions concluded on February 6 after which all valid votes were tallied. Julia Wolf and Bob Maddula in the Executive Office were responsible for developing and implementing the successful on-line voting system.

The election of the Division Representatives for the Administrative and Regional Divisions for the two-year term beginning in October 2004 was held immediately after the conclusion of the general election. Only those individuals who would be serving as Unit Chairs within his/her respective division as of the conclusion of the national conference in Cincinnati this fall were eligible to vote for these elected Division Representative positions.

The 2004 election results are as follows:

Board of Directors:
President (1-year term, 2004-2005): Eric White, Pennsylvania State University
Vice President (1-year term, 2004-2005): Elaine Borrelli, University of New Mexico

Board of Directors (3-year term each, 2004-2007):
Jo Anne Huber, University of Texas, Austin
Jane Jacobson, Iowa State University
Nancy Walburn, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Division Representatives:
Administrative Division Representative (2-year term, 2004-2006): Rich Robbins, Cornell University
Regional Division Representative (2-year term, 2004-2006): Kazi Mamun, University of Southern California
Commission & Interest Group Division Representative (2-year term, 2004-2006): Maura Reynolds, Hope College

Region Chairs (2004-2006):
Mid-Atlantic Region 2: Jon Steingass, Virginia Commonwealth University
Southeast Region 4: Annie Turman, Georgia State University
North Central Region 6: Carol Gruber, University of Minnesota
Northwest Region 8: Sarah Ann Hones, Southern Oregon University
Rocky Mountain Region 10: Beth Isbell Tapley, University of New Mexico

Commission Chairs (2004-2006):
Advising Administration: Linda Chalmers, University of Texas-San Antonio
Advising Students with Disabilities: Les Hemphill, Cloud County Community College
Advising Transfer Students: Troy Holaday, Ball State University
Assessment of Advising: Victor Macaruso, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Engineering & Science Advising: Jeanette Sorensen, University of Nevada-Las Vegas
Faculty Advisors: Kathy Stockwell, Fox Valley Technical College
LGBTA Concerns: Lynne Carlson, University of Southern Florida
Multicultural Concerns: Tina McNamara, Marquette University
Small Colleges & Universities: William Van Dusen, Regis University
Undecided & Exploratory Students: Elizabeth Higgins, University of Southern Maine

Commission Chairs (2004-2005):
Advising Education Majors: Karleen Edwards, Hofstra University
ESL & International Student Advising: Lizette Bartholdi, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Committee Chairs (2004-2006):
Finance Committee: Celeste Pardee, University of Arizona
Membership Committee: Brandy Zito, University of Alabama
Research Committee: Joyce Buck, Pennsylvania State University

Cite this article using APA style as: 2004 NACADA leadership position election results. (2004, June). Academic Advising Today, 27(2). [insert url here]


Posted in: 2004 June 27:2


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.