AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community


The election of NACADA leadership positions for terms beginning in October 2005 began on January 14, 2005 when the online voting system was made accessible to all eligible voting NACADA members. Login information and passwords were e-mailed individually to members using special mail-merging software. The positions for which candidates were seeking election included NACADA President, Vice President, Board of Directors members, Region Chairs, Commission Chairs, and Committee Chairs. The election process for these positions concluded on February 11 after which all valid votes were tallied.

The election of the Division Representative for the Commission and Interest Group (CIG) Division for the two-year term of October 2005-October 2007 was held immediately after the conclusion of the general election. Only those individuals who would be serving as Commission Chairs within the CIG Division as of the conclusion of the national conference in Las Vegas this fall were eligible to vote for this elected Division Representative position. In March, the incoming appointed Division Representatives for the Administrative and Regional Divisions were announced by Jo Anne Huber, incoming NACADA President, and these individuals will also begin a two-year term in October 2005 following the national conference.

The 2005 leadership election results are as follows:

Board of Directors:
President (1-year term, 2005-2006): Jo Anne Huber, The University of Texas at Austin
Vice President (1-year term, 2005-2006): Jane Jacobson, Iowa State University

Board of Directors (3-year term each, 2005-2008):
Jennifer Bloom, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Susan Campbell, University of Southern Maine
Phil Christman, Malone College

Division Representatives (2-year term, 2005-2007):
Commission & Interest Group Division Representative: Jill Johnson, University of Guelph

Administrative Division Representative: Jayne Drake, Temple University
Regional Division Representative: George Steele, Ohio Learning Network

Region Chairs (2005-2007):
Northeast Region 1: Gail Stepina, University of New Hampshire
Mid-South Region 3: Karen Thurmond, The University of Memphis
Great Lakes Region 5: Dan King, Michigan State University
South Central Region 7: Jill Anderson Hieb, University of Kansas
Pacific Region 9: Selma Reed, San Diego State University

Commission Chairs (2005-2007):
Advising Adult Learners: Teri Farr, Illinois State University
Advising Business Majors: Bill Johnson, The College of New Jersey
Advising Education Majors: Lee Kem, Murray State University
Advising Graduate and Professional Students: Kati Markowitz, University of California at Berkeley
Advising Student Athletes: Nancy Everson, College of William and Mary
Advisor Training and Development: Kathy Davis, Southwest Missouri State University
ESL & International Student Advising: Aura Rios Erickson, Shoreline Community College
Liberal Arts Advisors: Tim Moore, Kent State University
Technology in Advising: Lauren Wass, Florida International University
Two-Year Colleges: Peggy Jordan, Oklahoma City Community College

Committee Chairs (2005-2007):
Awards Committee: Rob Mossack,Lipscomb University
Diversity Committee: Skip Crownhart, Metropolitan State College of Denver
Member Career Services: Karen Sullivan-Vance, Oregon State University
Professional Development Committee: Tim Champardé, Lansing Community College

Cite this article using APA style as: 2005 NACADA leadership position election results. (2005, June). Academic Advising Today, 28(2). [insert url here]

Posted in: 2005 June 28:2


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.