AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community

The election of NACADA leadership positions for terms beginning in October 2007 began on February 2, 2007 when the online voting system was made accessible to all eligible voting NACADA members. Login information and passwords were e-mailed individually to members using special mail-merge software. The positions for which candidates were seeking election included NACADA President, Vice President, Board of Directors members, Region Chairs, Commission Chairs, and Committee Chairs. The election process for these positions concluded on February 23 after which all valid votes were tallied. These newly elected leaders will begin their terms in October 2007 following the Annual Conference in Baltimore.

The election of the Division Representative for the Commission & Interest Group Division for the two-year term of October 2007-October 2009 was held immediately after the conclusion of the general election. Only current and newly elected Commission Chairs within the Commission & Interest Group Division participated in the voting process for this elected Division Representative position. The incoming appointed Division Representatives for the Administrative and Regional Divisions were recently announced by Susan Campbell, NACADA President, and those individuals will also begin a two-year term in October 2007 following the annual conference.

The 2007 leadership election results are as follows:

Board of Directors:
President (1-year term, 2007-2008): Jennifer Bloom (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Vice President (1-year term, 2007-2008): Casey Self (Arizona State University)
Board of Directors (3-year term each, 2007-2010):
Sharon Aiken-Wisniewski (University of Utah)
Jayne Drake (Temple University)
Rob Mossack (Lipscomb University)

Division Representatives (2-year term, 2007-2009):
Commission & Interest Group Division Representative: Victor Macaruso (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Appointed :
Administrative Division Representative: Skip Crownhart (Metropolitan State College of Denver)
Regional Division Representative: Gail Stepina (University of New Hampshire)

Region Chairs (2007-2009):
Northeast Region 1: Susan Kolls (Northeastern University)
Mid-South Region 3: David Goss (College of Charleston)
Great Lakes Region 5: Lynn Freeman (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh)
South Central Region 7: John Paul Regalado (University of Texas-Austin)
Pacific Region 9: Deborah Nakashima (Hawaii Pacific University)

Commission Chairs (2007-2009):
Advising Adult Learners: Lisa Peck (Western Connecticut State University)
Advising Business Majors: Deborah Noll (Iowa State University)
Advising Education Majors: David Benz (University of Houston-Clear Lake)
Advising Graduate & Professional Students: Sarah Naylor (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)
Advising Student Athletes: Janice Robinson (Auburn University)
Advisor Training & Development: Pat Folsom (University of Iowa)
ESL & International Student Advising: Leslie Yeager (Indiana University-Southeast)
Liberal Arts Advisors: Sarah Ann Hones (Southern Oregon University)
Technology In Advising: Renee Babcock (University of Texas-Austin)
Theory & Philosophy Of Advising: Jeff McClellan (Utah Valley State College)
Two-Year Colleges: Steve Schneider (Fox Valley Technical College)

Committee Chairs (2007-2009):
Awards Committee: Susan Fread (Lehigh Carbon Community College)
Diversity Committee: Jane Jacobson (Iowa State University)
Professional Development Committee: Albert Matheny (University of Florida)

The NACADA Board of Directors and the Executive Office appreciate the time that NACADA members took to study the qualifications and platform statements of the candidates and cast their votes online. We also thank all individuals who participated in the election—the candidates who ran for office as well as those who nominated them. Congratulations to those who have been elected to leadership positions. Their willingness to make this commitment to NACADA is greatly appreciated.

If you or a colleague are interested in serving in a NACADA Leadership position and would like to become a candidate in next year’s elections, nominations must be submitted via the 2008 Leadership Recommendation Form to the Executive Office by Friday, November 2, 2007. An online nomination form will be available this summer on our Web site, which can be completed and submitted electronically. NACADA members will be notified of its availability via e-mail in the monthly Member Highlights. There will also be a Word version of this form available at this same site that can be printed, completed, and sent by mail or fax to the Executive Office. Leadership Recommendation forms can also be submitted at the NACADA Annual Conference in Baltimore where forms will be available in the conference program, at the NACADA display booth, at the Commission & Interest Group Fair, and at the conference registration area.

Cite this article using APA style as: NACADA leadership election results. (2007, June). Academic Advising Today, 30(2). Retrieved from [insert url here]

Posted in: 2007 June 30:2


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.