AAT banner

Voices of the Global Community

The election of NACADA leadership positions for terms beginning in October 2006 began on February 3, 2006 when the online voting system was made accessible to all eligible voting NACADA members. Login information and passwords were e-mailed individually to members using special mail-merging software. Positions up for election included NACADA President, Vice President, Board of Directors members, Region Chairs, Commission Chairs, and Committee Chairs. The election concluded on February 24, after which all valid votes were tallied.

The election of the Division Representatives for the Administrative and Regional Divisions for the two-year term October 2006-October 2008 was held immediately after the conclusion of the general election. Only those individuals who would be serving as Committee Chairs within the Administrative Division and as Region Chairs within the Regional Division at the conclusion of the 2006 National Conference were eligible to vote for these elected Division Representative positions. The incoming appointed Division Representative for the Commission & Interest Group Division was later announced by Susan Campbell, incoming NACADA President; that individual will also begin a two-year term in October 2006 following the National Conference.

The 2006 leadership election results are as follows:

Board of Directors:

President (1-year term, 2006-2007): Susan Campbell, University of Southern Maine
Vice President (1-year term, 2006-2007): Nancy Walburn, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Board of Directors (3-year term each, 2006-2009):

Terry Musser, Penn State University
Rich Robbins, Cornell University
Casey Self, Arizona State University

Division Representatives(2-year term, 2006-2008):

Administrative Division Representative: Ruth Hussey, Penn State University
Regional Division Representative: Glenn Kepic, University of Florida


Commission & Interest Group Division Representative: Kathy Stockwell, Fox Valley Technical College

Region Chairs (2006-2008):
Mid-Atlantic Region 2: Sandra Waters, Old Dominion University
Southeast Region 4: Kyle Ellis, University of Mississippi
North Central Region 6: Kimberly Vess Halbur, North Dakota State University
Northwest Region 8: Karen Sullivan-Vance, Western Oregon University
Rocky Mountain Region 10: John Mortensen, Utah State University

Commission Chairs (2006-2008):
Advising Administration: Cindy Iten, University of Kentucky
Advising Students with Disabilities: Joyce Howland, SUNY-Empire State College, Alfred Campus
Advising Transfer Students: Jess Ray, Illinois State University
Assessment of Advising: Naomi Wright, New Jersey City University
Engineering & Science Advising: Peg Steele, Ohio State University
Faculty Advising: Rhonda Sprague, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered & Allies Concerns: Jennifer Joslin, University of Iowa
Multicultural Concerns: Kris Rugsaken, Ball State University
Small Colleges & Universities: Julie Stockenberg, Colorado College
Undecided & Exploratory Students: David Spight, University of Texas at Austin

Committee Chairs (2006-2008):
Finance Committee: Lynn O’Sickey, University of Florida
Membership Committee: Ben Chamberlain, Iowa State University
Research Committee: Joshua Smith, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

The NACADA Board of Directors and the Executive Office appreciate the time that NACADA members took to study the qualifications and platform statements of the candidates and cast their votes online. We also thank all individuals who participated in the election—the candidates who ran for office as well as those who nominated them. Congratulations to those who have been elected to leadership positions. Their willingness to make this commitment to NACADA is greatly appreciated.

If you or a colleague are interested in serving in a NACADA Leadership position and would like to become a candidate in next year’s elections, nominations must be submitted via the 2007 Leadership Recommendation Form to the Executive Office by Friday, November 3, 2006. An online nomination form will be available this summer on our web site at www.nacada.ksu.edu/Election/index.htm, which can be completed and submitted electronically. NACADA members will be notified of its availability via e-mail in the monthly Member Highlights. There will also be a Word version of this form available at this same site that can be printed, completed, and sent by mail or fax to the Executive Office. Leadership Recommendation forms can also be submitted at the NACADA National Conference in Indianapolis where forms will be available in the Conference program, at the NACADA display booth, at the Commission & Interest Group Fair, and at the Conference registration area.

Cite this article using APA style as: 2006 NACADA leadership position results. (2006, June). Academic Advising Today, 29(2). Retrieved from [insert url here]

Posted in: 2006 June 29:2


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Academic Advising Today, a NACADA member benefit, is published four times annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. NACADA holds exclusive copyright for all Academic Advising Today articles and features. For complete copyright and fair use information, including terms for reproducing material and permissions requests, see Publication Guidelines.